How Dare You, Mr. President!

After watching the video of Keith Olbermann’s July 3d call for both the President and Vice President of the United States to resign (I did not catch the original broadcast on MS-NBC) the title for this post immediately came to mind.  It was inspired by dialogue in Tom Clancy’s book and movie, “Clear and Present Danger.”  The danger that I see as being clear and present is not so much from some foreign adversary, certainly not from Iraq or even from al Qaeda, but from within our own democracy, a democracy that has atrophied from years of neglect by it’s own citzens.

The Founding Fathers would be truly saddened to see that we have come so far only to loose our way.  You’ll fully understand what this means after reading Al Gore’s new book, “The Assault on Reason.”

You may not like what Mr. Olbermann had to say last Tuesday evening.  But, after watching the video for yourself, you will almost certainly agree with me that it was journalism the likes of which we have not known since Edward R. Murrow took on Senator Joseph McCarthy on the CBS television news program, See It Now.

(click the run button twice, once to activate and once to view)

“We have met the enemy and he is us.”

(Pogo)

To post a comment, click on the tiny COMMENTS word below.

Published in: on July 7, 2007 at 8:24 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kgarry.wordpress.com/2007/07/07/how-dare-you-mr-president/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. WOW! What provocative and powerful words. I’ve never seen this man on TV before. I would be worried for my safety if I were him, given his transparency here! He speaks the words and makes the comparisons that many of us would want to share. I’m pleased to witness a media outlet who has the guts to do so.

  2. I have just gotten around to watching this commentary and it is outstanding. I did not watch this but he blew me away after watching it on YouTube. It reminds me of the sad state of affairs that we have been reduced to. I wonder if the White House heard these words????? Makes you wonder!!!

  3. Hey

    I was surfing the web and i saw this site, pretty cool.
    Currently im running and adult site:Reachton
    k, just want to say hi 🙂
    Can i link you from my site? im looking for quality content like yours. If no let me know if i can add u in exchange for a montly fee or something.


Leave a Reply

